de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

How to Cure Your Swiss Illness?

18 October - 10 November

| Free

Flux Laboratory is happy to welcome Maëlle Gross for her first solo exhibition. Young Swiss of Greek descent, Maëlle is a multidisciplinary artist that puts forward a new reflection on the question of identity.

After focusing on subject matters surrounding gender, mainly through the medium of video filming, she found her inspiration for new creations in the concept of nostalgia – one being away from his / her native country. The so called “Swiss illness” is linked to Dr. Johannes Hofman’s research dating back to the 17th century. He observed the depressed state of Swiss soldiers sent abroad, explored the sources of their despondency and described the first symptoms of this since then much talked about sentiment.

Her father being Greek, Maëlle herself has been affected by origin-related queries. For a year, she has been conducting research rotating between Geneva and Athens in order to detect codified social behaviors, notably around the notion of identity. By using imaging, sequencing, writing and narration she transforms her vulnerabilities into vivid pieces and explores, via the big data of the world-wide web, nine new ways to find a cure for the “Swiss illness”.

Curator: Olivia Fahmy

+info

Organizer

FLUX Laboratory

Venue

Flux Laboratory Zurich, Utoquai 31, 8008 Zurich
31 Utoquai, Zürich, Schweiz
+ Google Map

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

How to Cure Your Swiss Illness?

18 Oktober - 10 November

| kostenlos

Flux Laboratory freut sich, Maëlle Gross für ihre erste Einzelausstellung zu begrüßen. Junge Schweizerin griechischer Abstammung, Maëlle ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, die eine neue Reflexion über die Frage der Identität vorstellt.

Nach der Fokussierung auf Themen rund um das Geschlecht, vor allem durch das Medium Video-Filmen, fand sie ihre Inspiration für neue Kreationen im Konzept der Nostalgie – eine, die weg von ihrem Heimatland ist. Die so genannte „Schweizer Krankheit“ ist mit Dr. Johannes Hofmans Forschung aus dem 17. Jahrhundert verbunden. Er beobachtete den depressiven Zustand der schweizerischen Soldaten, die ins Ausland geschickt wurden, erforschten die Quellen ihrer Verzweiflung und beschrieben die ersten Symptome davon seitdem viel über das Gefühl gesprochen.

Ihr Vater ist griechisch, Maëlle selbst ist von ursprungsbezogenen Fragen betroffen. Für ein Jahr leitet sie die Forschung zwischen Genf und Athen, um kodifizierte soziale Verhaltensweisen zu ermitteln, vor allem um den Begriff der Identität. Durch die Verwendung von Imaging, Sequenzierung, Schreiben und Erzählung verwandelt sie ihre Schwachstellen in lebendige Stücke und erforscht über die großen Daten des World Wide Web neun neue Wege, um eine Heilung für die „Schweizer Krankheit“ zu finden.

Kuratorin: Olivia Fahmy

+info

Veranstalter

FLUX Laboratory

Veranstaltungsort

Flux Laboratory Zurich, Utoquai 31, 8008 Zurich
31 Utoquai, Zürich, Schweiz
+ Google Karte