de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Indian Dance Theatre Meets Shakespeare

23 September

Colors, drama, music and dance: Kathakali, a classical theatre tradition from South India, is a mixture between ballet, theatre, opera and pantomime, featuring impressive masks, costumes and complex gestures.

Asia Society Switzerland and Museum Rietberg are partnering for an unusual Kathakali performance: Sadanam Balakrishnan, a world-renowned master of this ancient art form, will perform with his ensemble an interpretation of Shakespeare’s «Othello» – for the very first time in Switzerland.

Sadanam Balakrishnan sees many similarities between the traditions of Shakespeare and Kathakali: “Both theatre traditions flourished in the seventeenth century. The language employed in the two theatre traditions is heightened, stylized and poetic. The major characters of each are extraordinary individuals, much above the realm of ordinary folk. They are complex, fully developed characters. Ethical choice, questions of justice and the importance of self-realisation are dominant themes in both dramatic traditions.”

+info

Details

Date:
23 September
Event Categories:
, ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/1925283261058175

Organizer

Asia Society Switzerland

Venue

Museum Rietberg Zürich
Gablerstrasse 15, Zürich, 8002 Switzerland
+ Google Map

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

Indian Dance Theatre Meets Shakespeare

23 September

Veranstaltung auf Englisch.

Farben, Drama, Musik und Tanz: Kathakali, eine klassische Theatertradition aus Südindien, ist eine Mischung aus Ballett, Theater, Oper und Pantomime mit beeindruckenden Masken, Kostümen und komplexen Gesten.

Asien Gesellschaft Schweiz und Museum Rietberg vereinen eine ungewöhnliche Kathakali-Aufführung: Sadanam Balakrishnan, ein weltbekannter Meister dieser alten Kunstform, wird mit seinem Ensemble eine Interpretation von Shakespeares «Othello» – zum allerersten Mal in der Schweiz – aufführen.

Sadanam Balakrishnan sieht viele Ähnlichkeiten zwischen den Traditionen von Shakespeare und Kathakali: „Beide Theater-Traditionen blühten im siebzehnten Jahrhundert. Die Sprache, die in den beiden Theatertraditionen angewandt wird, wird gesteigert, stilisiert und poetisch. Die Hauptfiguren von jedem sind außergewöhnliche Individuen, viel über dem Reich des gewöhnlichen Volkes. Sie sind komplexe, voll entwickelte Charaktere. Ethische Wahl, Fragen der Gerechtigkeit und die Bedeutung der Selbstverwirklichung sind dominante Themen in beiden dramatischen Traditionen. „

+info

Details

Date:
23 September
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/1925283261058175

Veranstalter

Asia Society Switzerland

Veranstaltungsort

Museum Rietberg Zürich
Gablerstrasse 15, Zürich, 8002 Switzerland
+ Google Karte