de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

Jill Freedman

28 September - 27 October

The Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie is pleased to present a selection of works by the internationally re-nowned street and documentary photographer Jill Freedman in a cabinet exhibition. Vintage photo-graphs from various phases of the New Yorker’s creative life are shown.

Jill Freedman, who born in New York in 1939, worked as a nightclub musician and copywriter before en-gaging autodidactically with photography and consequently carrying out her first photographic project Old News: Resurrection City (1971). Appalled by the murder of Martin Luther King Jr., Freedman travelled to Washington D.C. and took part in the Poor People’s Campaign, during which she began documenting Resurrection City, a camp of plywood shacks built by demonstrators. Freedman then spent two years traveling with the Beaty-Cole circus and paid tribute to the dying way of life of the circus people with the book Circus Days (1975). Among her most intensive documentaries are Firehouse (1977) and Street Cops (1982), in which Jill Freedman intimately followed the activities of the New York Fire and Police Departments at one of New York’s most corrupt times.

Freedman freelanced for magazines such as Life, Time, Geo and New York Times Magazine and whose photographs are reminiscent of the works by André Kertész, Dorothea Lange and Cartier-Bresson, has a sharp sense of humour as well as a sense of composition and mood.

Freedman seems to be drawn to the bizarre, the unexpected and the inexplicable – the loneliness of the individual, the spookiness of the circus and the everyday mystery of the streets. It is often difficult to de-termine whether she means her photographs to be haunting or hilarious, crude or cheerful.

Freedman’s award-winning works are included in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, the International Center of Photography, New York, George Eastman House, Rochester, the Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, D. C., the New York Public Library, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and the Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris.

+info

Details

Start:
28 September
End:
28 October
Event Categories:
, , , ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/171030153445954

Organizer

Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie

Venue

Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie
Rämistrasse 18, Zürich, 8001 Switzerland
+ Google Map

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

Jill Freedman

28 September - 27 Oktober

Im Rahmen einer Kabinettausstellung freut sich die Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie eine Auswahl an Arbeiten der international renommierten Strassen- und Dokumentarfotografin Jill Freedman präsentieren zu dürfen. Gezeigt werden Vintage Fotografien aus verschiedenen Schaffensphasen der New Yorkerin.

Jill Freedman, der 1939 in New York geboren wurde, arbeitete als Nachtclubmusikerin und Texterin, bevor sie sich autodidaktisch mit der Fotografie begleitete und folglich ihr erstes Fotoprojekt Old News: Resurrection City (1971) dirigierte. Erschrocken durch den Mord an Martin Luther King Jr. reiste Freedman nach Washington D. C. und nahm an der Poor People’s Campaign teil, in der sie begann, die Resurrection City zu dokumentieren, ein Lager von Sperrholzhütten, die von Demonstranten gebaut wurden. Freedman verbrachte dann zwei Jahre mit dem Beaty-Cole-Zirkus und bezahlte die sterbende Lebensweise der Zirkus-Leute mit dem Buch Circus Days (1975). Zu ihren intensivsten Dokumentarfilmen gehören Firehouse (1977) und Street Cops (1982), in denen Jill Freedman die Aktivitäten der New Yorker Feuer- und Polizeidienststellen in einer der korruptesten Zeiten von New York verfolgte.

Freedman freischaffend für Zeitschriften wie Life, Time, Geo und New York Times Magazine und deren Fotografien erinnern an die Werke von André Kertész, Dorothea Lange und Cartier-Bresson, hat einen scharfen Sinn für Humor sowie ein Gefühl von Komposition und Stimmung .

Freedman scheint auf das Bizarre, das Unerwartete und das Unerklärliche – die Einsamkeit des Individuums, die Vernunft des Zirkus und das alltägliche Geheimnis der Straßen – zu ziehen. Es ist oft schwierig zu de-term, ob es bedeutet, eindringlich oder unglaublich witzig, grob oder fröhlich zu sein.

Freedmans preisgekrönte Werke sind in den permanenten Sammlungen des Museum of Modern Art, New York, dem Internationalen Zentrum der Fotografie, New York, George Eastman House, Rochester, dem Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, DC, der New York Public, enthalten Bibliothek, das Museum der Schönen Künste, Houston und die Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris.

+info

Details

Start:
28 September
End:
28 Oktober
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, , , ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/171030153445954

Veranstalter

Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie

Veranstaltungsort

Fabian & Claude Walter Galerie
Rämistrasse 18, Zürich, 8001 Switzerland
+ Google Karte