de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

Josef Zlamal: East of Eden

11 January - 10 February

After the Galerie Römerapotheke already showed the Czech artist in Miami, Paris, London and Lugano and was able to convey it to well-known collections, we are pleased to present the first solo exhibition in Zurich with Josef Zlamal.

»East of Eden« is the title of the exhibition of the artist Josef Zlamal, born in the Czech Republic in 1983, and deals with Zlamal’s intensive examination of the depiction of the image of man, which captivates through the emotional tension of contemporary art with a particularly emotional intensity. Against the backdrop of Christian apocalyptic motifs, Josef Zlamal creates timeless landscapes in which an eternal battle between good and evil takes place.

Josef Zlamal’s works challenge the viewer to a dialogue that raises existential questions. As an example, this illustrates the paper work »Last Judgment« (2013, picture no. 1): Here the precise, partly also watery ink becomes an interplay between the visible and the invisible, between the concrete and the abstract. Despite the emotionally charged atmosphere of the Apocalypse, compositional harmony is the defining moment of the work. The artist, painter and sculptor moves with tremendous virtuosity, precision and almost missionary eagerness between contemporary apperception and medieval art, referring both to tradition (Hieronimus Bosch, Matthias Grünewald, Lucas Cranach, Füssli or Hans Baldung Grien) and to the future no limits.

Josef Zlamal’s artistic curiosity and his creative urge have no limits. He is looking for an intensive dialogue with other artists – on several levels. For three years, work has been done in direct collaboration with the sculptor Richard Stipl (* 1968). This unique as well as intimate collaboration is clearly illustrated by the tattooed wooden sculpture »Human« (2017, picture no. 2): the head and the drawing are inextricably linked and inseparable.

“Genesis”, the most important work of the exhibition, will be presented only on the occasion of the vernissage. It is a multimedia work (400x200x140cm) that combines sculpture, drawing and video. AusstellungThe exhibition “East of Eden” is his first presentation, which integrates two-dimensional and three-dimensional objects (drawings on handmade paper / drawings on wooden sculptures) as well as a video installation and sketches.

To the artist

Josef Zlamal is one of the most promising young artists from the Czech Republic. His works have been exhibited in leading contemporary art museums (eg Power Station of Art, Shanghai). His paintings are characterized by an immediately recognizable language, gloomy figures, brutal scenes influenced by medieval art and expressionism (Otto Dix, George Grosz, Alfred Kubin), silent films (Fritz Lang, Carl Theodor Dreyer, Sergei Eisenstein) and literature (Friedrich Durrenmatt, Thomas Bernhard, Karel Capek). He lives and works in Prague, Chur and London.

+info

Details

Start:
11 January
End:
11 February
Event Categories:
, , , , ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/153502128712330

Organizer

Galerie Römerapotheke

Venue

Galerie Römerapotheke
Rämistrasse 18, Zürich, 8001 Switzerland
+ Google Map

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

Josef Zlamal: East of Eden

11 Januar - 10 Februar

Nachdem die Galerie Römerapotheke den tschechischen Künstler bereits in Miami, Paris, London und Lugano zeigen und an namhafte Sammlungen vermitteln konnte, freuen wir uns, die erste Solo-Ausstellung in Zürich mit Josef Zlamal zu präsentieren.

»East of Eden« lautet der Titel der Ausstellung des 1983 in Tschechien geborenen Künstlers Josef Zlamal und sie widmet sich Zlamals intensiver Auseinandersetzung mit der Darstellung des Menschenbildes, die im Spannungsfeld der zeitgenössichen Kunst durch eine besonders emotionale Intensität besticht. Vor dem Hintergrund christlich-apokalyptischer Motive kreiiert Josef Zlamal zeitlose Landschaften, in denen sich ein ewiger Kampf zwischen Gut und Böse abspielt.

Josef Zlamals Arbeiten fordern den Betrachter zu einem Dialog auf, der existenzielle Fragen aufwirft. Exemplarisch veranschaulicht dies die Papierarbeit »Last Judgment« (2013, Bild Nr. 1): Die präzis gesetzte, teils auch wässrige Tusche wird hier zu einem Wechselspiel zwischen dem Sichtbaren und dem Unsichtbaren, zwischen dem Konkreten und dem Abstrakten. Trotz der emotional aufgeladenen Atmosphäre der Apokalypse ist die kompositorische Harmonie der bestimmende Moment der Arbeit. Mit ungeheurer Virtuosität, präzisem Strich und nahezu missionarischem Eifer bewegt sich der Zeichner, Maler und Bildhauer zwischen zeitgenössischer Apperzeption und mittelalterlicher Kunst, verweist gleichzeitig auf Tradition (Hieronimus Bosch, Matthias Grünewald, Lucas Cranach, Füssli oder Hans Baldung Grien) wie auf Zukunft und kennt keine Grenzen.

Josef Zlamals künstlerische Neugierde und seinem Schaffensdrang sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Er sucht den intensiven Dialog mit anderen Künstlern – auf mehreren Ebenen. Seit drei Jahren entstehen Arbeiten in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bildhauer Richard Stipl (*1968). Diese einzigartige wie auch intime Zusammenarbeit wird durch die tätowierte Holzskulptur »Human« (2017, Bild Nr. 2) in aller Deutlichkeit veranschaulicht: Kopf und Zeichnung sind spannungsvoll miteinander verbunden und gehören untrennbar zusammen.

»Genesis«, das wichtigste Werk der Ausstellung, wird erst anlässlich der Vernissage vorgestellt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine multimediale Arbeit (400x200x140cm), die Skulptur, Zeichnung und Video miteinander verknüpft. �Die Ausstellung »East of Eden« ist seine erste Präsentation, die neben zwei- und dreidimensionalen Objekten (Zeichnungen auf handgeschöpftem Papier / Zeichnungen auf Holzskulpturen) auch eine Videoinstallation sowie Skizzen integriert.

Zum Künstler

Josef Zlamal ist einer der vielversprechendsten jungen Künstler aus Tschechien. Seine Werke wurden bereits in führenden Museen für zeitgenössische Kunst ausgestellt (z. B. Power Station of Art, Shanghai). Seine Bilder zeichnen sich durch eine sofort erkennbare Sprache aus, düstere Gestalten, brutale Szenen, beeinflusst durch mittelalterliche Kunst und Expressionismus (Otto Dix, George Grosz, Alfred Kubin), Stummfilm ( Fritz Lang, Carl Theodor Dreyer, Sergej Eisenstein) und Literatur (Friedrich Dürrenmatt, Thomas Bernhard, Karel Capek). Er lebt und arbeitet in Prag, Chur und London.

+info

Veranstalter

Galerie Römerapotheke

Veranstaltungsort

Galerie Römerapotheke
Rämistrasse 18, Zürich, 8001 Switzerland
+ Google Karte