de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Philipp KEEL – Splash

6 July - 19 August

Opening of the exhibition and book launch: Thursday, July 6, from 6.30 pm
Guest speaker: Gerhard Steidl, publisher, and Tobia Bezzola, director of the Museum Folkwang

The exhibition in the picture hall lasts from 7 July to 19 August 2017.
Opening hours during the summer:
Wednesday to Friday from 12 to 18.30, Saturday from 11 to 16 hours

Philipp Keel is astonished by the charm of a fleeting moment and notes what he sees: casual, everyday. He is not concerned with depicting reality, but consciously altering it through alienation or reduction. You have to look closely, because the seemingly normal is crazy in Philipp Keel’s pictures.
While an image is created in a few moments, image processing takes months, sometimes even longer than one year. Philipp Keel dedicates himself to this process with experimenting enthusiasm and with fanaticism of meticulous meticulousness. In doing so, he condenses colors and forms in a way that abstracts the everyday.
On the water floating leaves cast shadows, white women’s legs immersed in a pool, the glowing heat of the Sierra Nevada in front of the car window, a brilliant Ferris wheel vibrating before our eyes: The work of Philipp Keel is full of poetry – beautiful and alien at the same time.

+info

Organizer

Bildhalle
Website:
www.bildhalle.ch

Venue

Bildhalle
Stauffacherquai 56, Zürich Schweiz
+ Google Map
Website:
www.bildhalle.ch

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

Philipp KEEL – Splash

6 Juli - 19 August

Ausstellungseröffnung und Book Launch: Donnerstag, 6. Juli, ab 18.30 Uhr
Gastredner: Gerhard Steidl, Verleger, und Tobia Bezzola, Direktor des Museum Folkwang

Die Ausstellung in der Bildhalle dauert vom 7. Juli bis 19. August 2017.
Öffnungszeiten während des Sommers:
Mittwoch bis Freitag 12 bis 18.30 Uhr, Samstag 11 bis 16 Uhr

Philipp Keel lässt sich vom Zauber eines flüchtigen Augenblicks überraschen und hält fest, was er sieht: Zufälliges, Alltägliches. Es geht ihm dabei nicht darum, die Realität abzubilden, sondern sie durch Verfremdung oder Reduktion bewusst zu verändern. Man muss genau hinschauen, denn das scheinbar Normale wird in Philipp Keels Bildern verrückt.
Während ein Bild in wenigen Augenblicken entsteht, dauert die Bildbearbeitung im Labor Monate, zuweilen sogar länger als ein Jahr. Philipp Keel widmet sich diesem Prozess mit Experimentierlust und an Fanatismus grenzender Akribie. Dabei verdichtet er Farben und Formen in einer Art, die das Alltägliche abstrahiert.
Auf dem Wasser schwimmende Blätter werfen Schatten, weisse Frauenbeine eingetaucht in einem Pool, die flirrende Hitze der Sierra Nevada vor dem Autofenster, ein leuchtendes Riesenrad vibriert vor unseren Augen: Die Arbeit von Philipp Keel ist voller Poesie – schön und fremd zugleich.

+info

Veranstalter

Bildhalle
Webseite:
www.bildhalle.ch

Veranstaltungsort

Bildhalle
Stauffacherquai 56, Zürich Schweiz
+ Google Karte
Website:
www.bildhalle.ch