de | en
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

There is no more land, there is only sand

20 August

Lecture by Milica Topalovic

The process of Singapore’s transformation from a backwater colonial port, predominantly rural, to the new nation of industrial middle class housed in public high rises, was dubbed a “territorial revolution” with many layers: the social, political and economic dimensions of the national territory have been sculpted by the hand of the state, using topography as the main medium.

Singapore also shows that construction of urban land usually doesn’t come without a (vast) hinterland. The city-state is known as the world’s largest importer of sand for construction, as is located at the center of the sand-trade region whose radius extends to South China, Cambodia, and Myanmar. With nearly a quarter of its land area, around 140 square kilometers, added over the years, it has been estimated that three-quarters of this is “built on foreign soil.”

Milica Topalovic is an architect, urbanist, and an Assistant Professor of Architecture and Territorial Planning at ETH Zurich. Expanding the traditional focus of urbanism and urban studies, her research expertise is on territory and territorial urbanization beyond the limits of “the city”. She has worked on these themes since 2006, when she joined the ETH Studio Basel and directed urban research programs on international cities and on territories including Havana, Hong Kong and the Nile Valley. From 2011-15 she held research professorship at the Singapore-ETH Centre Future Cities Laboratory, studying the relationship between Singapore and its transnational hinterlands. She has also studied extensively informal urban transformation in Europe and the world. She is the author of Belgrade: Formal/Informal, and is working on the forthcoming book Hinterland: Singapore Beyond the Border. In her ongoing studio series at the ETH Department of Architecture she is conducting a series of investigations on European Countryside.

+info

Organizer

Johann Jacobs Museum
Website:
www.johannjacobs.com

Venue

Johann Jacobs Museum
Seefeldquai 17, 8034 Zürich Schweiz
+ Google Map
Website:
www.johannjacobs.com

de | en
Lade Veranstaltungen

« All Events

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

There is no more land, there is only sand

20 August

Vortrag von Milica Topalovic auf Englisch.

Der Prozess der Umwandlung von Singapur aus einem kolonialen Backwater-Kolonialhafen, überwiegend ländlich, in die neue Nation der industriellen Mittelschicht, die in öffentlichen Hochhäuser untergebracht ist, wurde als „territoriale Revolution“ mit vielen Schichten bezeichnet: die sozialen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Dimensionen des Staatsgebietes Wurden von der Hand des Staates geformt, mit Topographie als Hauptmedium.

Singapur zeigt auch, dass der Bau von städtischen Land in der Regel nicht ohne ein (weites) Hinterland kommt. Der Stadtstaat ist bekannt als der weltweit größte Importeur von Sand für den Bau, wie befindet sich im Zentrum der Sand-Handels-Region, deren Radius erstreckt sich auf Süd-China, Kambodscha und Myanmar. Mit fast einem Viertel seiner Landfläche, rund 140 Quadratkilometern, im Laufe der Jahre hinzugefügt, wurde geschätzt, dass drei Viertel davon auf „fremden Boden“ gebaut ist.

Milica Topalovic ist Architektin, Urbanistin und Assistenzprofessorin für Architektur und Territoriale Planung an der ETH Zürich. Durch die Erweiterung des traditionellen Fokus des Urbanismus und der städtischen Studien ist ihre Forschungskompetenz auf Territorium und territoriale Urbanisierung über die Grenzen der „Stadt“ hinaus. Sie hat seit 2006 an diesen Themen gearbeitet, als sie sich dem ETH Studio Basel anschloss und städtische Forschungsprogramme auf internationalen Städten und auf Territorien wie Havanna, Hongkong und dem Niltal startete. Von 2011-15 hielt sie Forschungsprofessur am Singapore-ETH Center Future Cities Laboratory und studierte die Beziehung zwischen Singapur und seinem transnationalen Hinterland. Sie hat auch intensiv informelle städtische Transformation in Europa und der Welt studiert. Sie ist Autorin von Belgrad: Formal / Informal und arbeitet an dem bevorstehenden Buch Hinterland: Singapur jenseits der Grenze. In ihrer laufenden Studio-Reihe an der ETH-Abteilung für Architektur führt sie eine Reihe von Untersuchungen auf europäischer Landschaft durch.

+info

Veranstalter

Johann Jacobs Museum
Webseite:
www.johannjacobs.com

Veranstaltungsort

Johann Jacobs Museum
Seefeldquai 17, 8034 Zürich Schweiz
+ Google Karte
Website:
www.johannjacobs.com